Previous | Home | Next

Late 19th C. Antique Tibet Rug of a Lovely detailed Buddhist Auspicious Symbols and flowers on a nice variated orange field. Orange was strictly for monastic purposes which makes this somewhat more special. Great flow of Khatas (tibetan ceremonial scarf), keeps the eyes wandering from end to end. mid level
Endless Knot symbolises the nature of reality where everything is interrelated and only exists as part of a web of karma and its effect. Having no beginning or end, it also represents the infinite wisdom of the Buddha, and the union of compassion and wisdom.
Two Books symbolizes learning. Chessboard represents gentlemanly behavior.The Scroll is the symbol of painting and writing.
The Five Qualities of Enjoyment are offerings, as when they come into contact with our senses, they give rise to the negative consequences of attachment and craving:
The Mirror is a symbol for visual form.
The Lute symbolises sound.
The Incense Burner represents smell.
The Fruit refers to for taste.
The Silk relates to touch.
In offering these qualities, one meditates on their nature and the intention of abandoning craving.
The Lotus is a very important symbol in Buddhism. It refers to the complete purification of body, speech and mind, and the blossoming of wholesome deeds in liberation. A Blue Lotus is a symbol of the victory of the spirit over the senses, and signifies the wisdom of knowledge. It is the preferred flower of Manjushri, the bodhisattva of wisdom.
Peonies are the flowers of masculinity, good fortune and an emblem of love. Represent Spring
Chyranthenmums are symbols of an easy life. Represent Fall
Three fruits: Peach are for marriage and immortality; Pomegranate is fertility and male offspring and Citron though inedible is symbolizing happiness.